The new physical address is:
Kentucky Board of Durable Medical Equipment Suppliers
500 Mero Street, 2SC32
Frankfort, KY 40601
Please continue to send regular mail to P.O. Box 1360, Frankfort, KY 40602.
The Kentucky Board of Durable Medical Equipment Suppliers (KBDMES), was created July 15, 2016. The Board will issue licenses and renewals under the Public Protection Cabinet's Department for Professional Licensing (DPL).
The purpose of the Board of Durable Medical Equipment Suppliers is to administer and enforce the statutory authority and to monitor the needs of the consuming public. It recommends appropriate changes in the law to assure fairness and equity. The board conducts formal hearings when necessary and prosecutire by due process any violators of KRS 309.
Do you need to find a licensed person with the Kentucky Board of Durable Medical Equipment Suppliers?
You can now search the Active License Directory located here that will allow you to search for a licensed individual by Board, License Type, Region and/or County.
*Please note: Licensees have the option to publicize information or leave it unavailable. The Office of Occupations and Professions believes this information will be useful and serve public protection.
IMPORTANT INFORMATION RELATED TO LICENSURE
$350 Renewal Fee - covers two-year licensing period unless you change ownership or premise/location.
Proof of an approved CMS Accreditation Certificate - must be attached or uploaded with the application. The expiration of the accreditation must exceed September 30th of the application year. Any application without a valid accreditation will not be issued until such valid accreditation is received.
Applications without valid Accreditation shall be subject to an inspection and the cost of said inspection will be the responsibility of the applicant and must be paid prior to the inspection to the KBDMES. Cost is $350 per inspection. Failure to meet an inspector will result in additional inspection fee and forfeiture of the original inspection fee. The license shall not be issued until successful completion of the inspection under KRS 309 and KAR 201 47:010 and 47:020.
New License Number will be issued for every license. Your current HME-00000 number will be shown on your certificate, card or online verification page at O&P and will be called your LEGACY LICENSE NUMBER. It will show status identical to your new number. O&P will, if necessary, provide you with a letter stating it is valid, current and reflects the status of your new license number. In your eService Account you will be able to print off your required business certificate.
Change of Ownership or Location/Premise - now requires immediate notification and new application under KRS 309 and must include a new $350 fee. The licensing period starts anew, meaning you may have greater than a twenty four month licensing period and the new renewal date will be reflected online and in the system.